The church is open every day from 8:00 am to 7:00 pm.
For more information: Teglio Tourist Office
Tel. +39 0342 782000 - email@example.com
The church is located in the historic centre of Teglio and can be reached by car.
The Parish Church of Teglio stands at the foot of the rise of the ancient Castrum Tilii, the castle from which the Adda Valley takes the name “Val Tellina”. Only the tower and the small Church of Santo Stefano still remain.
It is located in the centre of the town, within the “sacred enclosure”, now divided by the street, where the oratories of the Disciplini Bianchi (White Disciplines) and the Confratelli Neri (Black Brothers) and the ossuary of the old cemetery are found.
It was the Mother Church of Castellanza and the municipality of Teglio, the medieval administrative area that controlled the land up to the drainage divide in the historic region of Orobia beyond the Adda, in the centre of which were located the hamlets of Boalzo, Aprica, Castellanza and Grania, the present San Giacomo, with their respective parishes. The current complex, which was consecrated on 8 November 1817 by Bishop Grimaldi, is a harmonious blend of architecture dating from the fifteenth and seventeenth centuries. The façade features a magnificent marble rose window with a delicate Virgin and finely worked small columns and a portal, designed by Rodari brothers in 1506. The interior has a nave and two side aisles, all covered with groin vaults.